The Restore Redshift Cluster action can be used to restore a Redshift cluster from a Redshift snapshot. Later, it can (optionally) be deleted.
For example, at 8am, a Redshift cluster can be restored from the latest snapshot of a production Redshift cluster for development purposes, then 8 hours later, it can be deleted.
Please see Common Action Settings for a description of settings common to all action types.
Snapshot Identification Method
Indicates how the source snapshot will be selected. Valid values are:
By Snapshot ID - Specify a snapshot ID to restore from
Redshift Cluster Newest Snapshot - Uses the newest snapshot from the specified Redshift cluster
Source Redshift Snapshot ID
Indicates the Redshift snapshot ID from which the new Redshift cluster will be restored. Required if Snapshot Identification Method is set to "By Snapshot ID". This snapshot must exist in the region specified.
Source Redshift Cluster ID
Indicates the Redshift cluster ID from which the newest Redshift snapshot will be used to restore the new Redshift cluster. Required if Snapshot Identification Method is set to "Redshift Cluster Newest Snapshot". This cluster must exist in the region specified.
New Redshift Cluster ID
Indicates the cluster identifier of the new Redshift cluster. Macros can be used in the cluster ID to include run-time data. See below.
Indicates the desired availability zone in which the new Redshift cluster will be created.
Optional. By default, the restored Redshift cluster will use the 'default' security group. Specify an alternate security group to have it assigned to the new Redshift cluster.
Cluster Subnet Group Name
Optional. If the new Redshift cluster is to reside inside a VPC, specify the Cluster Subnet Group Name to use for the new cluster.
Cluster Parameter Group Name
Optional. Specify the cluster parameter group to use for the new cluster.
Change Publicly Accessible
By default, a restored Redshift cluster is publicly accessible. Use this field to explicitly set the new RDS instance as publicly accessible or not.
Delete the Cluster
Indicate whether the new Redshift cluster should be automatically deleted later. The running time of the cluster must also be specified if this is enabled.
Indicate the length of time the Redshift cluster should remain running before it is deleted. This value is only required if "Delete the Cluster" is enabled.
Create a Final Snapshot
Indicates whether a final snapshot should be created of the new Redshift cluster when it is deleted. This value is only available if "Delete the Cluster" is enabled.
Final Snapshot ID
Indicates the snapshot ID of the final snapshot when the cluster is deleted. This value is only required if "Create a Final Snapshot" is enabled. Macros can be used in the snapshot ID to include run-time data. See below.
The following macros can be used to include some run-time information.
Date of snapshot in year-month-day format
Time of snapshot in 24-hour format
ID of the cluster
Macros are case-sensitive. For example, $(Time) is not valid. $(TIME) must be used.
Amazon Commands Used
The following Amazon AWS commands are used. The access key should have permission to execute all of them.