Description

The Erase Deleted S3 Objects action can be used to delete remaining versions of S3 objects that have been deleted from an S3 bucket.

Note: this action only functions on S3 buckets where object versioning is enabled.

Test Mode

The Erase Deleted S3 Objects action includes a "test mode" as a way of determining which object versions will be deleted without actually deleting the objects. This way, you can fine tune your action without concern for deleting the wrong objects. Test Mode is on by default.

When test mode is enabled, execute your action normally then check the action logs to verify that only objects that should have been deleted would have been deleted, and that objects that should not have been deleted would not have been deleted.

When you are satisfied, disable Test Mode.

Settings

Please see Common Action Settings for a description of settings common to all action types.

Bucket Name

Name of the bucket in which to delete object versions.

Prefix

Optional. Only objects with the specified prefix will be deleted. Macros can be used in this field.

Test Mode

Enables and disabled Test Mode (see above).

Amazon Commands Used

The following Amazon AWS commands are used. The access key should have permission to execute all of them.

  • s3:DeleteObjectVersions
  • s3:GetBucketVersioning
  • s3:ListObjectVersions
Did this answer your question?